Sports — 10 April 2015 — by Karim Juan - NEBL Commissioner
NEBL basketball returns

SAN IGNACIO TOWN, Wed. Apr. 8, 2015–The NEBL resumes this weekend with Week 9 games after taking Easter break. The regular season has 14 weeks of games (2 round-robins), so teams are now jostling for playoff positions, as they enter the second week of Round 2.

Upcoming games

All three games this weekend will be played on Saturday night. Undefeated Cayo Western Ballaz (7-0) will take their unbeaten streak on the island as they take on the defending champs San Pedro Tiger Sharks (5-2), who have not lost at home in two seasons. This game will be shown live on Channel 5 at 9:00 p.m., and this game will prove to be extremely crucial for both teams, as they try to lock up the #1 seed going into the playoffs, and home court advantage throughout the playoffs. Belize Yellow Pages Hurricanes (2-5) will remain in the city, as they travel to Bird’s Isle to take on Belize City No Limit (2-5) at 9:00 p.m.; and Orange Walk Running Rebels (1-5) will be hosting Dangriga Warriors (2-5) at the Orange Walk Multi Complex in Orange Walk Town at 9:00 p.m. These last two games will be very crucial, as all four teams are fighting for the fourth and final playoff spot, while the Belmopan Red Taigaz (5-2) will have a bye this week.

Tiger Sharks vs No Limit controversial game resolved

A three-member appeals committee met to decide the outcome of the game between San Pedro Tiger Sharks and Belize City No Limit. It was ruled that the last shot counted before the buzzer sounded, and as a result, the game has been awarded to San Pedro Tiger Sharks, who won 88-87.

All Star Selections

All Star Night will be held next week Saturday, April 18, at the Sacred Heart College Auditorium in San Ignacio Town. Tip-off will be at 8:00 p.m., followed by the Three Point Shootout, then the Slam Dunk Contest.

Below are the players that made the All Star Teams, along with the participants of the Slam Dunk and Three Point contests.

For the South team, the starters are: Daniel Nolberto (PG) – Dangriga Warriors; Elvis Usher, Jr. (SG) – Cayo Western Ballaz; Travis Lennan (SF) – Belmopan Red Taigaz; Jarrel Velasquez (PF) – Belmopan Red Taigaz; and Kurt Burgess (C) – Cayo Western Ballaz. The reserves are: Terrell Eskridge (PG) – Belmopan Red Taigaz; Stanley Flowers (PG) – Cayo Western Ballaz; Jamir Flores (SG) – Dangriga Warriors; Richard Troyer (SF) – Cayo Western Ballaz; Trevaughn Usher (SF) – Dangriga Warriors; Macario Augustine (PF) – Dangriga Warriors; Farron Louriano (C) – Belmopan Red Taigaz. The team will be coached by Douglas Smith of Cayo Western Ballaz, and the assistant coach will be Bernie Tarr from Belmopan Red Taigaz.

For the North, the starting five are: Lennox Bowman (PG) – Belize City No Limit; Alton Herrera (SG) – Orange Walk Running Rebels; Roger Reneau (SF) – Orange Walk Running Rebels; Brian White (PF) – Belize Hurricanes; and Kevin Domingo (C) – Belize City No Limit. The reserves are: Tyrone Edwards (PG) – San Pedro Tiger Sharks; Randy Usher (PG) – Orange Walk Running Rebels; Gregory Rudon (SG) – Belize City No Limit; Winston Pratt (SF) – Belize Hurricanes; Darwin Leslie (PF) – San Pedro Tiger Sharks; Andrew Ortiz (PF) – San Pedro Tiger Sharks; and Milton James (C) – San Pedro Tiger Sharks. The team will be coached by Rico Black from San Pedro Tiger Sharks, and the assistant coach is Matthew Smiling from Belize Yellow Pages Hurricanes.

Players who will be participating in the Three Point Shootout are: Tariq Middleton (Belize Yellow Pages Hurricanes); Ashton Edwards (San Pedro Tiger Sharks); Richard Troyer (Cayo Western Ballaz); Stephen Williams (Belmopan Red Taigaz); Rhetton Belisle (Belize City No Limit); Alton Herrera (Orange Walk Running Rebels); and Daniel Nolberto (Dangriga Warriors).

The participants of the Slam Dunk Contest are Farron Louriano (Belmopan Red Taigaz); Jarrel Velasquez (Belmopan Red Taigaz); Akeem Watters (Cayo Western Ballaz); Giovanni Lennen (Cayo Western Ballaz); Macario Augustine (Dangriga Warriors); Shemar White (Orange Walk Running Rebels); Winston Pratt (Belize Hurricanes); Milton James (San Pedro Tiger Sharks); and Andrew Ortiz (San Pedro Tiger Sharks).

NEBL 2015 – Basketball at its best!!

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.