Sports — 08 April 2014
Table Tennis

Table Tennis – St. Joseph supreme at 3rd Annual Dutch Lady Primary School Tournament

Primary school table tennis took center stage at the BES Auditorium just over a week ago on Friday, March 28, where the 2014 3rd Annual Dutch Lady Primary School Tournament resulted in St. Joseph Primary sweeping all 4 top positions. The hosts, Belize Elementary School (BES) fielded the largest team that included some top junior players, but that did not deter St. Joseph Primary School who walked away with the Championship Cup. Other participating primary schools were Hummingbird Elementary, St. Mary’s and Wesley, as well as first time entries St. Ignatius and Ephesus.

According to the Belize Table Tennis Association (BTTA) release on the event, some 64 students from the 7 primary schools played a total of 250 matches in Friday’s event. 8 groups of 8 players took part in an Elimination Round Robin, with the top 2 players from each group advancing to the “16 Draw Double-Elimination Finals.”

The BTTA report continued:

Top seed junior player Latrell Solis from St. Joseph made it to the finals by defeating Desire Amagula, Jaylen Nicholson and Luis Bardalez.

Bardalez from St. Joseph also made it to the finals by defeating Eric Li and Taye Parkinson, before losing to Solis, which then took him into the losers’ bracket. Bardalez rebounded by then defeating Terry Su, Jaylen Nicholson and Amiri Hoare to once again meet Solis in the Finals.

Solis won the Finals by a score of 3-1 over Bardalez.

Amiri Hoare took 3rd place, with Jaylen Nicholson taking home the 4th place trophy.

With all 4 players from St. Joseph School in the finals, they proved to be the school to beat come next year’s event.

The championship Cup was taken home by St. Joseph in this year’s event, after BES had taken it home the past two years. St. Joseph gets to hold on to this Cup until next year’s event.

The final results were: 1st – Latrell Solis (St. Joseph Primary); 2nd – Luis Bardalez (St. Joseph Primary); 3rd – Amiri Hoare (St. Joseph Primary); 4th – Jaylen Nicholson (St. Joseph Primary).

Mrs. Aisha Rudon, representing the sponsors Santiago Castillo’s Dutch Lady, was on hand to present the trophies and gift packages to the winners of this event…

Trophies were awarded to the top four finalists, as well as gift packages of products from Dutch Lady were also presented to all participants of the event.

The Championship Cup was also awarded to St. Joseph and Champion Latrell Solis as overall winners of this year’s event.

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.