Sports — 22 April 2017
Holy Saturday Cross Country Cycling Classic 2017 finishers

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Apr. 20, 2017–According to an official release on Monday, April 17, 78 cyclists started in this year’s Holy Saturday Cross Country, and 41 completed the 140 mile journey, of which 38 finished within the official time limit, which is not more than 30 minutes after the first place finisher.

Here is the list of those 38 within the time limit: 1st place (GUA) Alejandro Padilla Miranda (Guatemalan National Team, 5:35:05); 2nd (USA) Patrick Raines (Ken’s Bike Shop, 5:53:26); 3rd (GUA) Alder Torres (Guatemalan National Team, 5:53:28); 4th Ron Vasquez (Smart/C-Ray Western Spirit, 5:55:08); 5th Brandon Cattouse (Smart/C-Ray Western Spirit, 5:58:42); 6th (USA) Bill Elliston (Elliston Coaching, 5:58:44); 7th Oscar Quiros, Jr. (Smart/C-Ray Western Spirit, 6:00:03); 8th Giovanni Lovell (Digicell-4G Elite, 6:00:07); 9th (USA) David Flynn (Ken’s Bike Shop, 6:01:28); 10th Joslyn Chavarria, Jr. (Digicell-4G Elite, st – same time); 11th (USA) John Delong (Ken’s Bike Shop, st); 12th (USA) Phillip Truppelli (Ellison coaching, st); 13th (MEX) Rudy Rincon (Quintana Roo, st); 14th Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden (Kulture Megabytes, st); 15th Richard Santiago (Benny’s Megabytes, st); 16th Quinton Hamilton (unattached, st); 17th Angel Tzib (Westrac Alliance, st); 18th Robert Liam Stewart (Card’s Heating AC, st); 19th (USA) Chris Harkey (Ken’s Bike Shop, st); 20th Herman “Hijo” Requena (Westrac Alliance, st); 21st Nissan Arana (Westrac Alliance, st); 22nd Justine Williams (Linkup Cycling, st); 23rd Kent Gabourel (Kulture Megabytes, 6:05:56); 24th Tarique Flowers (Benny’s Megabytes, 6:06:00); 25th Joel Adan Borland (Digicell-4G Elite, 6:06:02); 26th Jose Choto (Imani’s Team, 6:08:42); 27th Joshua Fuller (Smart/C-Ray Western Spirit, 6:22:24); 28th Ernest Bradley (Digicell-4G Elite, st); 29th Fitzgerald “Palas” Joseph (Lampaz Cycling, 6:23:36); 30th Andre Belisle (Cabral/Marin Cycling, 6:24:29); 31st Preston Martinez (unattached, st); 32nd Nashen Ysaguirre (Cabral/Marin Cycling, st); 33rd Dwight Lopez (BelCal Cycling, 6:25:21); 34th Darnell Barrow (Benny’s Megabytes, 6:31:57); 35th Justin Faux (Digicell-4G Elite, 6:36:12); 36th (MEX) Cesar Dzul-Alcocer (Quintana Roo, 6:36:17); 37th Isaiah Willacey (Card’s Heating AC, 6:36:22); and 38th Johnny Miranda (unattached, 6:36:26).

The 3 finishers outside the time limit were Armando Garcia (6:47:45), Christopher Andrews (6:50:16) and Rasheed Young (7:01:56).

Special Category recognition:
Open U-23 Category – 1st Oscar Quiros, Jr.; 2nd Giovanni Lovell; 3rd Joslyn Chavarria, Jr.
Open Masters Category +35 – 1st (USA) Patrick Raines; 2nd (USA) Bill Elliston; 3rd (US) John Delong.
Masters Category 35+ – 1st Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden; 2nd Quinton Hamilton; 3rd Robert Liam Stewart.
Elite Category 3 – Oscar Quiros, Jr.
Masters 4/5 Category – 1st Kent “Bob” Gabourel; 2nd Fitzgerald “Palas” Joseph; 3rd Preston Martinez.
Elite 4/5 Category – 1st Joslyn Chavarria, Jr.; 2nd Joshua Fuller; 3rd Ernest Bradley.
First Junior – Joshua Fuller.
Youngest Rider – Nashen Ysaguirre.
The 2008 record of 5:40:12 set by American Ryan Baumann remains intact.

Related Articles


About Author

Eden Cruz

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.