Sports — 05 September 2014
Kent and Shalini repeat as Lionman Triathlon 2014 Champions

BELIZE CITY–The 15th Annual Lionman Triathlon – a 1500 meter swim, followed by a 40 km ride, and ending with a 10 km run – was held on Sunday, August 31, a the Sand Lighters Promenade on Newtown Barracks in Belize City, and saw reigning male and female open champions, Kent “Bob” Gabourel of San Pedro and Shalini Zabaneh of Independence, successfully defending their 2013 crown to claim the 2014 Lionman Triathlon championship.

Below are the top finishers in the various categories. Junior is under 18 years, and Master is over 40 years of age.

MALE OPEN – 1st Kent “Bob” Gabourel (2:19:03); 2nd Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden (2:26:57); 3rd Amed Figueroa (2:27:38).


FEMALE OPEN – 1st Shalini Zabaneh (2:38:00); 2nd Kerah Eiley (2:47:36); 3rd Jamie Lee Ganger (3:13:10).


JUNIOR – 1st Brandon G. Santos (2:42:04); 2nd Jordan Eric Santos (2:50:00); 3rd Kian Ancona (2:54:00).

brandonMASTER – 1st Ian McField (2:54:00); 2nd Richard Lewis; 3rd Trevor Muddle.

RELAY TEAM – 1st Belize Coast Guard; 2nd Sagitun; 3rd Belize Bank.

(Information courtesy Giovanni Alamilla, President, Belize National Triathlon Association)

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.