28.3 C
Belize City
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Taiwan helps with wildfire relief efforts

Photo: (l-r) Chief Executive Officer in the...

National Women in Fisheries Association established

Photo: Women in Fisheries Association elected council by...

Graduation highlights

Photo: Rebecca Lucas, valedictorian Belize Adventist College, Corozal,...

Weekend Warriors

SportsWeekend Warriors

Weekend Warriors/Bel-Cal Race results, dedicated to “Dangalang”

The Weekend Warriors/Bel-Cal race held on Sunday, April 27, was held in support and memory of “our fallen brother,” Ernest “Dangalang” Thurton who was buried on Friday.

The Class “A & B” riders started at 8:00 a.m. and rode together from Leslie’s Imports up the George Price (Western) Highway, to Hattieville junction, on to the Boom Road up to the turn at the Philip Goldson (Northern) Highway junction, and back via the Boom Road to the finish at Leslie’s, for a distance of 50 miles.

Class “C” riders left at 8:15 a.m. from Leslie’s Imports and went up the George Price (Western) Highway, turned right on to the Boom Road, and went up to the turn at Boom Village junction, and back via the Boom Road to the finish at Leslie’s, for a distance of 40 miles.

Below are the results:

Class “A/B” – 1st place Ernest Meighan (Santino’s, 2:15:35); 2nd Orson Butler (Invitee); 3rd David Pollard (FT Wiliams); 4th Daniel Cano (Digicell-4G); 5th Colin Maheia (FT Williams); 6th Mark Reid (Stationery House/Medinas Jwlry); 7th James Frampton (Santino’s); 8th Eric Burns (Scotiabank); 9th John Burns (Digicell-4G); 9th Calman Williams( Bel-Cal); 10th Kent Gabourel, Jr. (Megabytes).

First “B” rider was Andrew Vasquez from BWS (12th place); second was Santino Castillo from Santino’s (16th place); and third was Nehru Gilharry from Santino’s (17th place).

Class “C” – 1st place Herwald Humes (Digicell-4G); 2nd Carlo Marin (FT Williams); 3rd Nelson Zayden (Stationery House/Medina’s Jwlry); 4th Louis Usher (FT Williams); 5th Wayne Arnold (FT Williams); 6th Clarence Tesecum (Stationery House/Medina’s Jwlry); 7th Francis Cassasola (Santino’s); 8th Stephen Yearwood (Digicell-4G); 9th Lawrence Craig (Truckers); 10th Valentine Sosa (Truckers).

(Ed. Note: The sports desk joins in dedication of this race to the memory of Ernest “Dangalang” Thurton, and our sincere condolences to all his relatives and friends.)

Check out our other content

Graduation highlights

Check out other tags: