74 F
Belize City
Monday, January 18, 2021
Home Sports Corozal Community College girls and Mount Carmel High School boys are 2020...

Corozal Community College girls and Mount Carmel High School boys are 2020 NSSSA football champions

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Feb. 20, 2020– The National Secondary Schools Sports Association (NSSSA) held its 2020 national high schools football championships over the weekend with male and female games on Friday and Saturday, February 14 & 15, at the Marion Jones Stadium in Belize City, where this year’s Nationals were hosted by Pallotti High School.

Mount Carmel High School boys – National Male High School Football Champions 2020

The four regional champions – North, Central, West and South – in both male and female categories, played a simple knockout format, whereby the losers on Friday afternoon played the consolation third-place match on Saturday morning, while Friday’s winners clashed for the championship on Saturday afternoon.

After the finals, team trophies and individual medals were issued to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place teams, as well as individual awards to outstanding players, which were presented by Pallotti High School principal, Sister Clara, assisted by NSSSA President, Keith Madrill.

Females (F)

In (F) game 1 on Friday afternoon, (WEST) Belmopan Comprehensive School (BCS) won, 2-0, over (SOUTH) Delille Academy, with Jeily Corado netting both goals for BCS. And in (F) game 2, (NORTH) Corozal Community College (CCC) won in overtime, 2-1, over (CENTRAL) St. Catherine Academy. Carlene Tillett put SCA in front in first half; but CCC equalized through Anahie Blanco from the penalty spot in second half; and Yasmine Diaz got the game winner in overtime for CCC.

In Saturday morning’s 3rd place game, it was 1-1 in regulation between Delille Academy and SCA, after Ceneia Apolonio gave Delille the first half lead, and Carlene Tillett equalized in second half for SCA. They remained tied in overtime, and in the penalty shootout, Delille prevailed, 4-2.

The championship match on Saturday afternoon was scoreless in regulation, and in the penalty shootout, they were also tied at 3-3 after the first 5 penalty kicks. Thereafter, it was sudden death, and after 11 kicks taken by each side, it was CCC girls with the 7-6 victory over BCS.

Individual awards were: Most Goals – Jeily Corado (BCS); Best Defender – Marcia Ara (CCC); Best Midfielder – Roshany Narvaez (BCS); Best Striker – Anahie Blanco (CCC); Best Goalkeeper – Jaleeny Belisle (BCS); MVP – Andrea Campos (CCC).

Males (M)

In (M) game 1 on Friday afternoon, (WEST) Mount Carmel High School (MCHS) boys defeated (SOUTH) Georgetown Technical High School boys, 1-0, with a goal from Simon Mejia. And in (M) game 2 on Friday night, it was (NORTH) Belize High School of Agriculture (BHSA) coming away with the 2-1 win over (CENTRAL) Ladyville Technical High School (LTHS) boys. BHSA got a goal each from Leonardo Canul and Zamir Bonilla, while the only goal for LTHS was by Elijah Velasquez.

In the 3rd place game on Saturday morning, it was 1-1 at the half, after Elijah Velasquez (13’) opened the scoring for Ladyville Tech, and Marshawn Lozano (20’) equalized for Georgetown Tech. Marshawn Lozano struck again (61’) to break the tie and give Georgetown Tech the 2-1 victory for 3rd place.

Only 1 goal was scored in the championship match, and it came in the 9th minute of overtime, when Kayser Tut scored a left-foot “chilena” a minute before the long whistle, to give Mount Carmel boys the 1-0 victory over Belize High School of Agriculture.

Individual awards were: Most Goals – Simon Mejia (MCHS); Best Defender – Leonardo Canul (BHSA); Best Midfielder – Allen Castillo (BHSA); Best Striker – Zamir Bonilla (BHSA); Best Goalkeeper – Cesar Panti (MCHS); MVP – Kayser Tut (MCHS).

(Information and pictures courtesy William Ysaguirre)

Feature photo: Corozal Community College girls – National Female High School Football Champions 2020

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Hon. Cordel exposes huge land scams in House 

BELMOPAN, Fri. Jan. 8, 2021-- Over the past two months, the ministries of the Government of Belize, under new headship, have been engaged in rigorous...

Mayor Wagner will seek re-election

BELIZE CITY, Tues. Jan. 12, 2021-- Months after a historic general elections, Belizeans will once again have to head to the polls for the...

PSU scolds GOB, calls for Whistleblowers Act

BELIZE CITY, Fri. Jan. 8, 2021-- The Public Service Union of Belize has gone on record to express their objections to comments made by...

National Assembly chambers modified for COVID-19

BELMOPAN. Fri. Jan 8, 2021-- Introducing the newly modified chambers of the National Assembly and laying down the rules of engagement were the first...