Sports — 07 December 2012

The 2012 1st Annual Primary Schools Table Tennis Tournament, sponsored by Santiago Castillo Limited, took place last Friday, November 30, at the Belize Elementary School Auditorium.

Competing in this inaugural year event were 5 of the main primary schools in Belize City – St. Mary’s Primary, Wesley Upper, Trinity Methodist, St Joseph Primary, and host Belize Elementary.

With some 40 students participating, the tournament began with a Round Robin competition in which the students were separated into 8 groups of 5. The top 2 from each group would advance to the FINAL-16 Double Elimination competition.

Making it to the Final-16 round were: Matthew Usher, Wayne Parham, Amiri Hoare, Latrel Solis, Jaylen Nicholson, Lynn Augustine, Zack Ortiz, Rohan Gillett, Tyrone Brown, Alexis Tun, Cuison Wong, Mario Galindo, Idelfonso Cu, Kristian Swasey, Luis Bardalez, and Edwin Quan.

And taking the top four positions were: 1st – Matthew Usher (Belize Elementary); 2nd – Tyrone Brown (St. Joseph Primary); 3rd – Kristian Swasey (Belize Elementary); and 4th – Rohan Gillett (St. Joseph Primary).

On hand to present trophies to the 4 top finishers, as well as a “gifts pack” and certificate of participation to ALL the students, was Mrs. Noemi Espat, representing the sponsors, Santiago Castillo Ltd. She congratulated all the students on their participation and the Belize Table Tennis Association (BTTA) on a well-organized tournament.

Congratulations to all the winners!!!!

(Information courtesy of BTTA)

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.