74 F
Belize City
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Home Sports Dangriga sports stats

Dangriga sports stats

Dangriga sports stats – Wagiya champions of Traveller’s/Belikin Classic Gold Mayor’s Cup 2014

Correction of Benguche Day Cycling Classic

We apologize for an error in our previous report, where Joslyn Chavarria was named as the first rider to cross the finish line in the 7th Annual Benguche Day Cycling Classic which took place on Sunday, May 25. Actually, Joslyn placed fifth. The correct list of top finishers follows: 1st place went to Wilson Assencio; 2nd was Edmund Camal; 3rd Shawn Cod; 4th Rizden Flowers; and 5th Joslyn Chavarria.

Once again, our apologies for the mistake.

More cycling in ‘Griga

The Dangriga Amateur Cycling Association will continue its monthly race next week Sunday, June 15, which will be the Fathers’ Day Cycling Classic. This race will start (and finish) from in front of Wadani Shed at 10:30 a.m. on June 15 and head all the way to Hopkins junction and back. First place receives $250.00; 2nd $150.00; 3rd $100.00; and 4th $50.00. Registration is only $5.00. For more information, riders who are also fathers can contact Moses Lopez at 625-4022 or Mr. T. at 662-3310.

Belikin 8-Ball Tournament

The Belikin 8-Ball Tournament being conducted under the auspices of the Stann Creek District Billiards Association, has 7 teams participating this year. They are: Noa Noa from Dangriga; Survivors from Hope Creek; Valley Shooters from Pomona; G.T. Kids from 4 Miles; Steadfast Boys from Steadfast Village; Santa Cruz and Scorpion Santa Cruz from Southern Village.

The tournament kicked off over the weekend at New Site Bar in Pomona on Saturday, May 31, at 7:00 p.m. when Valley Shooters went up against Survivors of Hope Creek. At the end of the game, Valley Shooters won over Survivors, 5-0. Winners for Shooters were: Guillermo Molineros over Jerome Galindo, 3-2; Anthony Rancharan over Jeffery Santos, 3-2; Charles Rivas over Bernard Muschamp, 3-1; Victor Melendrez over Carlos Saravia, 3-0; and Ruben Ortiz over Dale Santos, 3-1.

And on Sunday, June 1, at 3:00 p.m. in Steadfast Village at the Fair View 2 Cool Spot, Steadfast Boys defeated Santa Cruz, 3-2. Winners for Steadfast Boys were: Ashley Ritchie, Jr. over Omar Ponce, 3-2; Everald Choc over Wilmer De Dio, 3-0; and Lawrence Choc over Amilcar Hernandez, 3-0; while Santa Cruz winners were: Enfield Coleman over Jose Moralez, 3-2; and Oscar Moralez over Hayedon Serrano, 3-0.

The tournament continues this weekend.

Classic Gold Mayor’s Cup Finals

Despite some rains elsewhere in the country, the weather held up beautifully and reports are that the final game of the Traveller’s/Belikin Classic Gold Mayor’s Cup 2014 was a real spectacular treat for the hundreds of fans that thronged the Carl Ramos Stadium on Sunday to see Wagiya vs Conquerors for the championship. In a see-saw affair that saw the young Wagiya team take the early lead, then the more experienced Conquerors, it ended deadlocked in regulation; but in overtime, Wagiya got the game winner from the penalty spot through Brandon Murillo. Conquerors also got a penalty to equalize, but it rebounded off the crossbar, and Wagiya held on for the 4-3 victory and the championship. Goal scorers for Wagiya were Byron Chavez (11’), Victor Trujillo (90+’), Alton Carr (90+’) and Brandon Murillo (PK 90+’); while Conquerors’ goals were by Carlos Lino (44’) and Kyle Valerio (56’ & 95’).

In the preceding game for 3rd place, Alliance got the 3-1 win over Benguche, with goals from Elias Cruz (72’) and Hector Gomez (80’ & 82’), while Shanti Castillo (25’) scored for Benguche.

After the championship game, first place team Wagiya received $5,000.00 along with their gold medals, which was sponsored by Traveller’s, and their first place Cup which was sponsored by Orin Orio, father of Shane Orio, who lives in Los Angeles, California. Second place team Conquerors received $2,500.00, sponsored by Belikin, along with their silver medals and their second place team trophy. Third place Alliance received $1,000.00, sponsored by Ivan Ramos, along with their bronze medals and third place trophy. All trophies and medals for this tournament were also sponsored by Dangriga area rep. Hon. Ivan Ramos.

For the individual awards: Best Forward Allan Flores (Wagiya), Best Midfield Hassan Lucas (Wagiya), and Best Goalkeeper Eddy Perez (Wagiya) each received $250.00 and a plaque; and the MVP, Brandon Murillo (Wagiya) received $300.00 and also a plaque. All the prizes for the the individual awards were sponsored by Traveller’s.

This year’s Classic Gold Mayor’s Cup Finals was the biggest and most huge turnout of fans ever in the 8 years of our Mayor’s Cup here in Dangriga.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Belmopan turns 50!

July 28, 2020-- The City of Belmopan will be celebrating its 50th birthday on August 1, 2020. Belmopan is one of the newest capital...

COVID-19 cases spike over the weekend

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Aug. 3, 2020-- As of Friday, July 31, the Office of the Director of Health Services had reported a total of...

Flag days & statesmen

Dear Editor, There are things best left for the politicians to handle. True! Also true is that the best politicians engage the public in issues...

600 UB students approved for graduation

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Aug. 3, 2020-- The Board of Trustees of the University of Belize approved 600 students for graduation at a meeting on...