29 C
Belize City
Thursday, January 26, 2023

St. Catherine Academy at 140

by Kory Leslie (Freelance Writer) BELIZE CITY, Fri....

Opposition and third parties call out GoB on 2023’s bloody start

BELMOPAN, Thurs. Jan. 19, 2023  Still recovering from...

Year in Review Part 2 – 2022

Photo: LA-based photographer and artist Menyelek Marin...

Alicia Thompson new Cycling Federation president; elections hosted by Belize Olympic Association

SportsAlicia Thompson new Cycling Federation president; elections hosted by Belize Olympic Association

BELIZE CITY, Wed. Dec. 21, 2022

It was originally scheduled for November 26, but due to a procedural oversight the AGM and elections for the Cycling Federation of Belize (CFB), where two slates were contesting positions on the executive, was postponed until a couple weeks later on December 10.

Accompanying the previous text informing of the AGM and elections, were flyers of the two contesting slates as follows:

The flyer for one slate, titled “Developing Cycling through Unity”, featured candidates, for President – Alicia Thompson, for Vice-President – Glen Flowers, for General Secretary – Alan Auil, for Treasurer – Warren Coye, and for Committee Members – Douglas Lamb, Justin Williams and Ronald Sutherland.

The other flyer declared “Pedal for Change 2022-2026”, and listed their candidates, for President – Tariq Cano, for Vice-President – Giovanni Lovell, for Secretary – Karen Vernon, for Treasurer – Troy Gabb, and for Executive Members – Kaya Cattouse, Zahir Figueroa and Yadira Argueta.

A release on the Facebook page of the Belize Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association (BOCGA) dated December 11, revealed that the Alicia Thompson-led slate was successful in their election bid. Notably among the familiar big cycling names on her executive is two-time Cross Country Champion, Justin Williams. The first female president of the CFB, Alicia Thompson, herself a 3-time Women Cross Country Champion, succeeds Orson Butler who served as president from 2018.

Below is the BOCGA release, which also appears on the CFB Facebook page:

December 11 at 10:08 AM   

On Saturday, December 10th the BOCGA hosted the elections for the Executive Committee of the Cycling Federation of Belize. Congratulations to: President – Alicia Thompson; V-President – Glenford Flowers; General Secretary – Alan Auil; Treasurer – Warren Coye; Committee Members – Ronald Sutherland, Douglas Lamb, Justin Williams.

This team is committed to: The expansion of female participation; Youth development programs; Coaching seminars; Active racing season; Development of National Team; Unite cycling bodies; Create opportunities for more international exposure.

Congratulations from the Amandala Sports desk, and best wishes to all in the Cycling Family!

Check out our other content

St. Catherine Academy at 140

Year in Review Part 2 – 2022

Two RTA’s, two lives lost

Man hangs himself in detention cell

Elevator failure caused woman’s death

Ras Ben’s alleged killers walk free

Check out other tags: