74 F
Belize City
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Home Sports Bunas Birthday Race results

Bunas Birthday Race results

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Oct. 31, 2016–Here are the results from Bunas Birthday Race for Weekend Warriors (WW) A/B/C/Juniors, held yesterday. The race started at 9:00 a.m. from Maheias United, with the C-Class heading down towards the Chetumal Street roundabout, taking a right towards the George Price Highway, then a right up to the Hattieville roundabout and back, to finish at Maheias United, for 30 miles.

The Juniors did the same route; but the A/B Class went from the start line all the way to Rockville Junction, then returned to pass the finish line and head to the Haulover Bridge, then back to the finish at Maheias United, for 44 miles.

It was a close finish in the A/B Class between two teammates, with Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden in first place and Kent “Bob” Gabourel in second.

32 of 39, starters, finished the A/B Class race; four “C” riders failed to complete the journey, and all the Juniors returned,to the finish line.

Here are how they finished:

A/B Class – 1st place Kenroy Gladden (Kulture Megabytes, 1:56:12); 2nd Kent Gabourel (Kulture Megabytes, st); 3rd Isaiah Willacey (FT Williams, 1:56:28); 4th Mark Gentle (FT Williams, st); 5th Warren Coye (Santino’s, st); 6th Collet Maheia (Kulture Megabytes, 1:57:34); 7th George Abraham (Bel-Cal, st); 8th Arden Garay (BFSC El Pescador, st); 9th Steven Robinson (Caribbean Tires, 1:59:00); 10th Fred Usher (st); 11th Dean Belisle (Bel-Cal, st); 12th Preston Martinez (Bel-Cal, st); 13th Andrew Vasquez (BFSC El Pescador, st); 14th Palas Joseph (Lampaz, 1:59:41); 15th Clarence Tescum (Santino’s, st); 16th Vallan Symns (Kulture Megabytes, st); 17th Ryan Willoughby (Caribbean Tires, 2:00:41); 18th Santi Castillo (Santino’s, st); 19th Kevin Hope (FT Williams, st); 20th Andrew Brown (Kulture Megabytes, st); 21st Gilberto Acosta (Spinnaz, st); 22nd Derrick Smith (st); 23rdd Russel Dominguez (BFSC El Pescador, st); 24th Charles Garay (BFSC El Pescador, st); 25th Ian Abraham (Smart, st); 26th Windell Williams (Smart, st); 27th Kirk Sutherland (Digicell-4G, st); 28th Jack Sutherland (Digicell-4G, st); 29th Robert Mariano (Digicell-4G); 30th Stephen Bisset (Lampaz); 31st Sean Duncan (Smart); and 32nd Darwin Lodge (Lampaz).

C-Class – 1st place Steve Gill (Smart, 1:18:28); 2nd Edward Blank (BFSC El Pescador); 3rd Lisa Berger (BFSC El Pescador); 4th Andrew Bennett; 5th Judith Williamson (Smart); 6th Ingmar Perrera (BFSC El Pescador); 7th Carlo Marin; other finishers (some names not available) included Valentine Sosa (Truckers) and Lawrence Craig (Truckers).

Junior Class: 1st place Jashua Fuller (Smart, 1:29:02) ; 2nd Carlton Robinson; 3rd Darnell Augustine; 4th Sheldon Lynch and 5th Ernest Will.

(Sports Ed Note: The race sponsor Collet “Bunas” Maheia was the 1993 Cross Country Champion)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

COVID-19 update: 1,854 confirmed cases, 634 active cases, 1,196 recoveries and 24 deaths

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Sept. 28, 2020-- The number of new cases of COVID-19 continues to increase across the world daily. In Belize, we are still...

Belize celebrates 39 years of Independence

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Sept. 21, 2020-- Belize celebrated its 39th year of independence on Monday, September 21, 2020. The celebrations started off with the...

Police charge owner of farm where drug plane landed, for prohibited ammunition

ORANGE WALK TOWN, Wed. Sept. 23, 2020-- Noel Codd, a farm owner and businessman of Orange Walk Town, on whose farm a suspected drug...

COVID-19 update: 52 new cases; 1,758 total confirmed cases

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Sept. 24, 2020-- Data released tonight reveal that 52 new cases were identified today, and the number of recoveries is 1,072,...