30 C
Belize City
Friday, May 24, 2024

Belize attends STI Forum in New York

Photo: Belize’s delegation to STI forum in...

Belizean Douglas Langford, 2024 MVP at Basketball Without Borders

Photo: Douglas Langford BELIZE CITY, Mon. May 20,...

UEF commemorates Haitian Flag Day in Belize

Photo: YaYa Marin Coleman educating young Belizean...

C-Ray Saturday Race Series 2016 – Week 4 results

SportsC-Ray Saturday Race Series 2016 – Week 4 results

BELIZE CITY, Tues. Feb. 9, 2016–Race number 4 of the C-Ray Saturday Race Series kicked off on Saturday, February 6, at 6:30 a.m. Due to the inclement weather, the numbers in the field reduced this week; only 29 cyclists lined up. Of that, the Alliance Cycling Team from Belmopan was well represented with 9 cyclists, 7 elite and 2 juniors. The Benny’s Megabytes and Smart Teams had 4 each, while others were out there trying to battle off teams solo.

On the course were six station prizes; 3 were taken by Byron Pope – 1 gift certificate from Da Bizz BBQ, 1 gift certificate from Ordonez Bike Shop, and $25 courtesy Card Heating and Cooling. Keion Robateau of Team Alliance took 2 station prizes – $25 courtesy Card Heating and Cooling, and another $25 courtesy H Guerra’s Construction. Mark Staine of Team Smart got one station prize, which was $25 from Card Heating and Cooling.

With Team Alliance’s numbers in the field, they were able to control the race for the most part. Keion Robateau of Team Alliance and Byron Pope of Benny’s Megabytes were off the front for the majority of the race. Robateau’s teammates did an exceptional job holding off anyone from the main peleton who attempted to go across.

Somewhere between the garbage dump and Fresh Pond, 8 men separated themselves from the peleton – Mark Stain and Darnell Barrow of Team Smart; Giovanni Lovell of Digicell; Phillip Leslie of Benny’s Megabytes; Nissan Arana, Delawn Abraham, Shane Jones and Brandon Morgan of Team Alliance. This group of eight caught the lead two somewhere near CDS Gas Station. Now ten riders were in the break, and Team Alliance still had the upper hand with five cyclists present.

Brandon Morgan launched an attack; one of two things could happen – either he was caught just before the line, giving his teammates, Nissan and Delawn (the sprinters on the team), a good shot at the win, or he runs all the way to the line and gets the solo win. Mark Staine and Phillip Leslie collaborated on the front and chased Morgan until he was caught just before the line. Nissan Arana was happy for the team effort, when he crossed the line first, edging out Darnell Barrow (2nd) for the big W. Byron Pope, after being out front most of the race, had the legs to get himself a 3rd place finish, edging out a known “fast cat,” Giovanni Lovell (4th). Delawn Abraham rounded out the top 5. Keion Robateau took 6th, Mark Staine 7th, Phillip Leslie 8th, Brandon Morgan 9th, and newcomer to the elite category, Shane Jones rounded out the top 10.

Special thanks to Stationery House Retail Outlet, Ordonez Bike Shop, Cattouse Trucking, KV Events Planning, Bruce Bike Shop, Freetown Drug Store, Milky Way Restaurant, Da Bizz BBQ, Simmon’s BBQ, Card Heating and Cooling Inc., FT Williams, Fitzgerald “Palas” Joseph, Grace Kennedy.

The series continues on Saturday, February 20, at 6:00 am. Registration starts at 5:45 a.m. in front of Ready Call. Registration Fee: $5.00.

CATEGORY 4/5 & FEMALE – 1st Ray Cattouse; 2nd Kent Gabourel; 3rd Kaya Cattouse.

ELITE – 1st Nissan Arana; 2nd Darnell Barrow; 3rd Byron Pope; 4th Giovanni Lovell; 5th Delawn Abraham.

JUNIOR – 1st Andre Belisle; 2nd Darien Anderson; 3rd Anthony Lewis.

40 (years) + – 1st Ray Cattouse.

50 (years) + – 1st Ray Cattouse.

FEMALE – 1st Kaya Cattouse.

Check out our other content

Yo geh ketch!

Two missing men

Life sentence for Louis Gillett

Selgado asks for court’s mercy

Check out other tags: