General — 19 April 2019 — by Albert J. Ciego
Farmers of the Year 2019 winners

BELMOPAN, Wed. Apr. 17, 2019– The Annual Farmers of the Year Competition was carried out by the Ministry of Agriculture and the three winners were announced on Monday. Dan Isai Lopez, a farmer of the Cayo District, was named Male Farmer of the Year, while Female Farmer of the Year is Ana Eloisa Morales, a farmer of the Cayo District; and the Junior Farmer of the Year is Christian Eden Salazar, Jr., of the Corozal District.

The Famers of The Year Competition 2019 was successfully carried out under the theme “Innovations in Technology: Driving a Climate Resilient and Competitive Agriculture and Food Sector.”

Three judges, from the Department of Agriculture, the Pesticide Control Board, and the Caribbean Agriculture Research and Development Institute respectively, conducted the judging of farms in all six districts.

After two rounds of farm evaluation, the Ministry of Agriculture, through the National Agriculture and Trade Show Committee, informed the public of this year’s winners.

The National Agriculture and Trade Show will be held on April 26, 27 and 28, 2019.

Related Articles


About Author

Deshawn Swasey

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.