25 C
Belize City
Wednesday, October 5, 2022

SIB reports 13.5% GDP growth, tripling of rum production

The Statistical Institute of Belize reported that...

Older Persons Week 2022 is observed

by Khaila Gentle BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Sept. 29,...

Integrity Commission members appointed

HighlightsIntegrity Commission members appointed

BELIZE CITY, Mon. May 23, 2022

On Friday, the Senate approved the appointment of the members of the Integrity Commission after a number of years of dormancy of that body. Andrea McSweaney McKoy was appointed as the commission’s chairperson along with 6 other commissioners, who will serve a two-year term.

The other commissioners on the 7-member body are Katherine Meighan, Zoe Roberson Zetina, Ricardo Mogul, George Swift, Payal Ghanwani, and Jaraad Ysaguirre. Their term begins retroactively, starting April 1 this year.

“Honorable Members, the question is now, therefore, be it resolved that this Honorable Senate, … being satisfied that they are fit and proper persons to be appointed as the chairperson and members of the Integrity Commission, hereby, approves the said appointments for the period of 2 years with effect from 1st April 2022. All those in favor, kindly say ‘aye’” stated Senate president Carolyn Trench Sandiford at the meeting of the Senate on Friday, when members of the Senate were asked to indicate whether they supported the appointments.

No member of the Senate expressed any objections to the appointments of the persons selected to sit on the new Integrity Commission.

Check out our other content

August inflation rate was 7.4%—SIB

Job-seeking teen killed by group of men

Wayne Alyson Sampson (1960-2022)

Check out other tags: