33 C
Belize City
Sunday, June 4, 2023

Belize to participate in the 2nd Permanent Forum on People of African Descent

Photo: YaYa Marin Coleman, activist and chairperson...

CB & Elinor: Love is a color that never fades

I originally wrote this piece back in...

CEMO hosts Hurricane Preparedness Symposium

Photo: Stakeholders attending the CEMO symposium by Kristen...

Kelly Street prevails in penalties to take BDFA 1st Division Championship

SportsKelly Street prevails in penalties to take BDFA 1st Division Championship

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. July 28, 2022
It came down to the wire at the MCC on Sunday afternoon, July 24, where Kelly Street Bombers emerged victorious in a penalty shootout after overtime against Lake-I FC to claim the 2022 Belize District Football Association

(BDFA) 1st Division Championship. In the opening game to start the afternoon, Ebony Lake dropped Ladyville Rising Stars, 3-1, in regulation to take 3rd place in the competition. Ebony Lake got a goal each from Keydenshay Bowen (14’), Kibran Flores (46’) and Traveyon Martinez (81’), while Stiven Rivera’s (90+2’) injury time goal avoided the shutout for the Rising Stars.

It looks like a case of running low on gas in the finals, because after Lake-I FC jumped to a first half 3-nil lead with goals from Akeem Baptist (5’ & 39’) and Floyd Jones (8’), the boys from Kelly Street came roaring back in second half with two quick goals from Michael Bradley (56’) and Steven Baizar (57’); and then in injury time Baizar returned to tie up the match with his second goal (90+2’), for the 3-3 final score in regulation.

It stayed that way in overtime, and the penalty shootout entered sudden death after reaching a 4-4 tie with five kicks taken. After a miss by Lake-I’s kicker, Michael Bradley got the clincher for Kelly Street to secure the victory in penalties and the championship.

Aside from trophies, the champions, Kelly Street Bombers received a $1,500.00 cash prize, and second place Lake-I FC collected $800.00 for their efforts.

Individual awards were: Most Goals – Steven Baizar (Kelly St. Bombers); Best Forward – Traveyon Martinez (Ebony Lake); Best Midfielder – Steven Rivera (Ladyville Rising Stars); Best Defense – Andrew Estelle (Lake-I FC); Best Goalkeeper – Tyrone Alvarez (Lake-I FC); MVP – Steven Baizar (Kelly Street Bombers); Best Young Player – Keydenshay Bowen (Ebony Lake); MVP Playoffs – goalkeeper Gregory Fisher (Kelly Street Bombers).

Check out our other content

Check out other tags: