74 F
Belize City
Saturday, October 16, 2021
Home Highlights NWC’s board of commissioners officially inaugurated

NWC’s board of commissioners officially inaugurated

SourceDayne Guy

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Feb. 11, 2021– Thirteen (13) new members were appointed to the board of commissioners of the National Women’s Commission.

The board is to be led by the commission’s president, Thea Garcia Ramos, with Marissa Cervantes serving as the board’s vice president. Other members include Pastora Castillo, treasurer; Dorla Vaughn, secretary; Anthony Sabal; Wendy Cabral Williams; Geovannie Brackett; Chelsea Cruz; Aurelia Cal; Kristina Romero; Major Jonathan Kellman; Dr. Lesly Perez and Ashanti Arthurs Martin.

The Commission falls under the Ministry of Human Development, Families and Indigenous People’s Affairs’ portfolio. Thus, Hon. Dolores Balderamos Garcia, Hon. Gilroy Usher and CEO Tanya Santos Neal were present at the inaugural meeting held on February 11, 2021. The commission also serves as an advisory body to the Ministry, advising on women and gender-related issues and working towards effective and efficient planning and coordination among relevant stakeholders.

The National Women’s Commission is guided by the standards, principles and goals outlined in international commitments such as CEDAW, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, and the Belem Do Para Convention on eliminating Violence of Women.

In related news, Arreini Palacio Morgan has been appointed chairperson of the National Committee for Families and Children.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

US to open border with Canada, Mexico starting in early November

The United States will lift restrictions at its land borders with Canada and Mexico for fully vaccinated foreign nationals in early November, ending historic...

PM speaks on Belize’s economy

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Oct. 14, 2021-- While being interviewed by local reporters yesterday, the Prime Minister, Hon. John Briceño, noted that the country is...

Khalydia Velasquez, Belize International Day of the Girl – “We Belong”

Concacaf.com, Mon. Oct. 11, 2021-- Khalydia Velasquez might be the youngest Belizean player to score internationally in 2018 at IMG Academy but you would...

No bola rolling, but ballers still passing

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Oct. 11, 2021-- There is no football playing in Belize for over a year now due to Covid-19, and the football...