74 F
Belize City
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Home Sports Belize Rural Primary School boys and girls are Rural Basketball Champions 2017

Belize Rural Primary School boys and girls are Rural Basketball Champions 2017

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Oct. 26, 2017–Last Tuesday, October 17, the one-day Belize Rural Primary Schools Basketball Zone 1, 2, 3 & 4 Tournament finals were played at the Ladyville Basketball Court with 4 female (F) and 5 male (M) teams participating.

In a simple knockout format, 4 games were played in the first round: (F) Burrell Boom Methodist defeated St. Therese RC, 10-0, with Zoila Aguilar scoring 6 points for the winners. (M) Our Lady of The Way RC easily disposed of St. Therese RC, 27-3. Elmer Moralez and Jaden Frazer had 8 pts each for Our Lady of The Way, while Winston Dawson scored all 3 pts for St. Therese RC. (F) Belize Rural Primary won, 6-3, over Lucky Strike Government. Nadine Humble netted 4 pts for Belize Rural, and Kenisha Herbert scored 2 pts for Lucky Strike. And (M) Belize Rural crushed Burrell Boom Methodist, 24-4, behind 12 pts from Randy Moody, while Solomon Tillett and Tayjawn Gallego got 2 pts each for Burrell Boom.

While (M) Our Lady of The Way went straight to the male finals, Belize Rural Primary had to play-off with Lucky Strike Government, who were idle in round one. Belize Rural had little difficulty, rolling over Lucky Strike Government, 48-3, with top scorer Bernard Sutherland netting 18 pts for Belize Rural, while Jaheed Flowers got all 3 pts for Lucky Strike.

In the female championship match, it was Belize Rural Primary, 12-4, over Burrell Boom Methodist. Nadine Humble top scored for Belize Rural with 8 pts, while Dorothy Davis and Zoila Aguilar scored 2 pts each for Burrell Boom Methodist.

And in the male championship game, Belize Rural Primary prevailed, 12-8, over Our Lady of The Way RC. Randy Moody led Belize Rural Primary with 6 pts, while Elmer Moralez scored 4 pts for Our Lady of The Way RC.

(Information courtesy Ms. Barbara Cadle, Bze Dist. Sports Coordinator, NSC)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

PUP proposes new education model

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Aug. 13, 2020-- The People’s United Party (PUP) is charging full speed ahead to Belize’s 2020 general elections and has developed...

Time for Belize to wake up — more demand for coffee and corn than sugar

Dear Editor, Belize needs another major way besides tourism to earn foreign exchange. The Cruise Lines International Association announced that its members — which include nearly...

Belmopan church and other properties vandalized by MS 13

BELMOPAN, Mon. Aug. 10, 2020-- Police are looking for the person or persons who vandalized the Belmopan Nazarene Church (whose pastor is the well-known...


He still hits a punching bag inside his home in Florida in the United States before he departs outside for his morning briefing and...