Headline — 10 March 2018
Independence High School boys and St. Ignatius High School girls are 2018 NSSSA football champions

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Mar. 8, 2018– The National Secondary Schools Sports Association (NSSSA) 2018 football championships for females and males were hosted by the Toledo Community College at the Victor Sanchez Union Field on Friday and Saturday, March 2-3.

The four zone champion teams, for North, Central, West and South, participated in a simple knockout tournament in both female and male categories.

In female games on Friday, (West) St. Ignatius High girls won, 1-0, over (North) San Pedro High; and (Central) Ladyville Tech won, 1-0, over (South) Toledo Community College. On Saturday, in the 3rd place game, San Pedro girls got the 3-0 victory over TCC girls; and in the championship finals, it was St. Ignatius High girls, 2-0, over Ladyville Tech girls.

Individual female awards: Best Striker – Shantel “Rice” Robinson (St. Ignatius); Best Midfielder – Jensy Fuentes (Ladyville Tech); Best Defense – Vaylene Lambert (St. Ignatius); Best Goalkeeper – Lillian Calderon (St. Ignatius); and MVP – Vaylene Lambert (St. Ignatius).

In the male games on Friday, (West) Our Lady of Guadalupe High boys of Belmopan won, 2-1, over (North) Orange Walk Technical High boys; and (South) Independence High boys won, 1-0, over (Central) Wesley College boys. In the 3rdd place game on Saturday, Orange Walk Tech defeated Wesley College boys; and in the championship game it was Independence High boys, 2-1, over Our Lady of Guadalupe High boys.

Individual male awards: Best Striker – Alwin Zelaya (Independence High); Best Midfielder – Alwin Zelaya (Independence High); Best Defense – Korey Gomez (Our Lady of Guadalupe High); Best Goalkeeper – Kent Parham (Independence High); and MVP – Alwin Zelaya (Independence High).

The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners for both females and males received team trophies and individual medals, while the 4th place teams received a team trophy.  All participating teams also each received a new football, sponsored by the corporate sponsors SOL Belize and Crystal Water.

The championship teams, St. Ignatius High School girls and Independence High School boys, will also get to represent Belize at the upcoming 20th CODICADER Central American Junior Scholastic Games in Panama in September 2018.

(Thanks to William Ysaguirre for information and pictures in this report.)

Related Articles


About Author

Deshawn Swasey

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.