Sports — 14 June 2016
National Primary Schools Football Champions 2016

BELIZE CITY, Mon. June 13, 2016–The inaugural Belize Semipro Football League tournament in 1991 was won by La Victoria football club of Corozal Town, and in more recent times, Nizhee Corozal also claimed the championbship in 2008. But for some reason, having no doubt to do with the economics of the long travels involved, no Corozal team has participated in the Premier League of Belize tournaments for years now.


Nevertheless, football is still big in the north, as evidenced last week by the emergence of national primary school football champions for both females and males from Corozal – Copper Bank RC girls and Chunnox SDA boys. They competed against their primary school counterparts from all other districts on Thursday and Friday of last week at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in Belmopan, and were both crowned National Primary School Football Champions 2016 for females and males, respectively.

We will have more details in our weekend issue.

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.