Sports — 20 June 2014 — by Isaac John Rhys – NEBL Commissioner
NEBL 2014 Performance

NEBL 2014 Performance Award Winners – Farron Lauriano, MVP; Kurt Burgess, Defensive Player of the Year; and Andrew Ortiz, Best Young Player

The 2014 National Elite Basketball League (NEBL) is pleased to announce the winners of the regular season performance awards.

The winners were determined by a combination of statistical impact and vote by coaches. Each coach was asked to vote for their choice of 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th in each category. Additionally, the players were ranked statistically, 1 through 4, in each category. Points were allotted for place votes as follows: 1st place vote = 20 pts; 2nd place vote = 10 pts; 3rd place vote = 5 pts; 4th place vote = 2 pts.

The statistical votes were also allotted points as indicated above.

The results were as follows:

Most Valuable Player (MVP) – Farron Lauriano, Cayo (150 points); Winston Pratt, San Pedro (90 points); Kurt Burgess, Cayo (69 points); Gregory Rudon, Belize City (24 points).

Defensive Player of the Year (DPOY) – Kurt Burgess, Cayo (115 points); Michael Adams, San Pedro (112 points); Macario Augustine, Dangriga (67 points); Jason Grant, Corozal (39 points).

Best Young Player (BYP) – Andrew Ortiz, Belize City (104 points); Brandon Flowers, Dangriga (96 points); Elvert Ariola, Toledo (87 points); Brian White, Belize City (46 points).

On behalf of all teams in the NEBL, I would like to personally congratulate all the 2014 winners in the statistical categories listed. While these awards are for the individual, I am sure that their team will take great pride in celebrating their accomplishment, as it highlights the contributions they have come to expect and the public have now witnessed.

These awards will be presented at half-time of Game 2 of the NEBL Finals on Friday, June 20, at the Sacred Heart College Auditorium in San Ignacio.

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.