30 C
Belize City
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Belizean Peter “Chukku” Young passes in Kingston, Jamaica

BELIZE CITY, Wed. July 17, 2024 Amandala received...

YWCA elects new Board of Directors

by Charles Gladden BELIZE CITY, Wed. July 10,...

BCC and Peak Outsourcing sign MOU

by Charles Gladden BELIZE CITY, Wed. July 10,...

World Cup times

SportsWorld Cup times

Apologies for sports page error on World Cup game times

Early on Friday morning at the Amandala base on West Canal Street, the X reminded me that Brazil vs Chile was kicking off at 10:00 a.m., not 1:00 p.m. as our sports column had it.

Perhaps as painful as a player missing a penalty, is a fan missing an eagerly anticipated game. Hopefully, my blunder in printing the wrong times did not cause you to miss Brazil vs Chile on Saturday, which started at 10:00 a.m. instead of the 1:00 p.m. in our page 53 schedule for the “World Cup Brazil 2014 – Knockout Stage” in last weekend’s issue. If it did, my deepest regrets and sincerest apologies. The games are all replayed on different T.V. stations later, but there is nothing like watching it live, before the results are in. Once again, please forgive – “mea maxima culpa.”

Below is our corrected and updated schedule (PSO means after penalty shoot-out; OT means after overtime; and winning teams are in bold):

World Cup Brazil 2014 – Knockout Stage

ROUND OF SIXTEEN
Saturday, June 28
(#49) Brazil 1-1 (3-2 PSO) Chile
(#50) Colombia 2-0 Uruguay
Sunday, June 29
(#51) Netherlands 2-1 Mexico
(#52) Costa Rica 1-1 (5-3 PSO) Greece
Monday, June 30
(#53) France 2-0 Nigeria
(#54) Germany 2-1 (OT) Algeria
Tuesday, July 1
10:00 a.m. – (#55) Argentina vs Switzerland
2:00 p.m. – (#56) Belgium vs USA

QUARTER-FINALS
Friday, July 4
10:00 a.m. – (#58) France vs Germany
2:00 p.m. – (#57) Brazil vs Colombia
Saturday, July 5
10:00 a.m. – (#60) W-55 vs W-56
2:00 p.m. – (#59) Netherlands vs Costa Rica

SEMI-FINALS
Tuesday, July 8
2:00 p.m. – (#61) W-57 vs W-58
Wednesday, July 9
2:00 p.m. – (#62) W-59 vs W-60

PLAYOFF FOR THIRD PLACE
Saturday, July 12
2:00 p.m. – (#63) L-61 vs L-62

FINAL
Sunday, July 13
1:00 p.m. – (#64) W-61 vs W-62

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

International