75 F
Belize City
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Home Sports Belize Bank Bulldogs are National Female Softball Champions 2019

Belize Bank Bulldogs are National Female Softball Champions 2019

BELIZE CITY, Mon. Sept. 2, 2019– Softball fans from across the country turned out in numbers at Rogers Stadium over the weekend, as eight female softball teams, two each from Stann Creek (Independence United and Placencia), Cayo (defending champion Unitedville Rebels United and Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy), Belize Rural (Burrell Boom and Bermudian Landing) and Belize City (Belize Bank Bulldogs and Digi), engaged in a double-elimination National Tournament over three days, beginning on Friday evening and continuing from 9:00 a.m. daily on Saturday and Sunday. And when, after 14 games played, it was over on Sunday night, Belize Bank Bulldogs were crowned 2019 National Female Softball Champions, after winning, 10-3, by the Mercy Rule over Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy, who were thus eliminated with their second loss, while the Bulldogs remained undefeated in the tournament.

A victory by Roaring Creek, who eliminated Team Digi, 8-5, in the semifinal, would have forced another game against the Bulldogs, as that would have only been their first loss in the tournament.

According to Bulldogs head coach, Floyd Flowers, the Bulldogs were national champions in 2014, 2015 and 2016, after which Unitedville Rebels United were back-to-back champions in 2017 and 2018; and now the Bulldogs are back as champions in 2019.

Individual awards issued after the championship game included:  Best Batting Average ().714) – Joline Davis (Bulldogs); Most RBIs (6 each) – Kelsey Robinson (Bulldogs) & Darla Guerra (Digi); Most Strikeouts (11) – Maya Fukada (Bulldogs); Most Stolen Bases (3) – Karisha Coe (Independence United); Most Wins (2 wins each) – Mayu Fukada & Renisha Richards (Bulldogs); Most Valuable Player – Mayu Fukada (Bulldogs; she also had the 2nd best batting average.)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Teachers prepare to fight over land — again

COROZAL TOWN, Thurs. Dec. 12, 2019-- There is new friction between the Belize National Teachers Union (BNTU) and the Ministry of Education (MoE) as...

“Sure I loved the ladies. But I got a bum rap,” says 101-year-old RB

“Me an my partners had a club — we rented Thistle Hall — and on the weekends we held parties. All the ladies would...

Thieves attempt to rob former Belmopan mayor, Anthony Chanona

BELMOPAN, Tues. Dec. 10, 2019-- One of two thieves pointed a gun at former mayor of Belmopan, businessman Anthony Chanona, and tried to rob...

Akeem Trapp, 23, arraigned for murder of Glenford Hinds, 36

PUNTA GORDA, Toledo District, Thurs. Dec. 12, 2019-- Akeem Trapp, 23, a laborer of Flowers Bank, Belize District, has been charged with murder for...