28.3 C
Belize City
Sunday, August 14, 2022

MOHW hosts Workplace Wellness Forum

by Khaila Gentle BELMOPAN, Tues. Aug. 9, 2022A...

BDF soldiers get land titles

by Charles Gladden BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Aug. 11,...

CITCO Youth Innovation summer camp ends

150 kids from various parts of the...

Belmopan Bandits

HeadlineBelmopan Bandits

Belmopan Bandits FC are PLB Belikin Cup Opening Season 2013-2014 Champions

Belmopan Bandits FC 5:1 FC Belize

A large crowd turned out at the FFB Stadium in Belmopan on Saturday night, February 8, for the decisive Finals Game 2 of the Premier League of Belize (PLB) Belikin Cup Opening Season 2013-2014 tournament. A tough match-up was anticipated between home standing Belmopan Bandits FC and visiting FC Belize, after they drew 1-1 in the Finals Game 1 at the MCC a week earlier. And the game was close and competitive even after the Bandits claimed a 2-1 lead at the end of first half; but second half was all Bandits, after FC Belize lost defender Mark Grant to a red card ejection, and it ended 5-1, with Man of the Match, Deon McCaulay (37’, 67’ PK, 69’, 71’) netting 4 goals (including a penalty) and Denmark Casey, Jr. (45’) scoring the other for the Bandits. The only FC Belize goal came from Mark Kelo Leslie (39’), briefly tying the score in first half after McCaulay had given the Bandits a 1-nil lead.

FC Belize – Glenford Chimilio (goalkeeper), Jorge Estrada (Devaun Zuniga, 64’), Leon “Chow” Cadle, Ryan Gill, Kristian Perez, Jorge Alexman (Kevin Lino, 51’), Mark “Kelo” Leslie, Stephen “Breds” Baizer, Mark Grant (RED 48’), Michael “Suit” Hernandez (Dmitri Fabro, 64’) , Jarret Davis. Head coach – Fred Garcia, Jr.; assistant – Jorge Nunez.

Belmopan Bandits FC – Woodrow West (goalkeeper), Shane Armstrong, Dalton Eiley, Ian Gaynair, Erick Rodriguez, Dennis Serano, Denmark Casey, Jr. (Elroy Kuylen, 79’), Tyrone Pandy, David Trapp (Deris “Colombia” Benavides, 69’), David Madrid (Sanjay Casey, 71’), Deon McCaulay. Head coach – Leroy Sherrier Lewis; assistant – Edmund “Buzzard” Pandy.

Referee – Amir Castillas.

In the post-game awards ceremony, Belikin representative Hilly Martinez and FFB President Ruperto Vicente were on hand to assist PLB Commissioner Myito Perdomo in issuing the prizes and trophies to the champion and sub-champion, as well as individual awards which were previously announced for the regular season, and the Playoff MVP award, which was a foregone conclusion.

In a refreshing departure from tradition, this year’s championship team trophies (cups) and individual awards (mounted footballs) were all beautifully carved and polished wooden pieces from Medina’s Furniture Gallery; and the cash prizes were from sponsors Belize Brewing Company (Belikin).

FC Belize received the 2nd place team trophy along with individual medals for players and a $15,000.00 check; while Belmopan Bandits received the 1st place team trophy, medals for the players, and a $30,000.00 check.

The individual awards for the regular season included a special fan/spectator award, and that went to none other than Aaron Gamboa of Police United FC.

Individual awards were:

Best Goalkeeper – Benito Moreira (Verdes FC)

Most Goals Scored – Clifton West (Police United FC)

Best Defender – Vallan Symms (Belize Defence Force FC)

Best Forward – Clifton West (Police United FC)

Best Midfielder – Orlando Jimenez (Verdes FC)

Regular Season MVP – Franz Vernon (Paradise/Freedom Fighters)

Best Coach – Pablo Cacho (Verdes FC)

Best Manager – Lionel Cutkelvin (BDF FC) and Erick Vasquez (Verdes FC)

Playoff MVP – Deon McCaulay (Belmopan Bandits FC)

Most Entertaining Fan/Spectator – Aaron Gamboa (Police United FC)

Check out our other content

MOHW hosts Workplace Wellness Forum

BDF soldiers get land titles

CITCO Youth Innovation summer camp ends

Check out other tags: