30 C
Belize City
Friday, May 24, 2024

Belize attends STI Forum in New York

Photo: Belize’s delegation to STI forum in...

Belizean Douglas Langford, 2024 MVP at Basketball Without Borders

Photo: Douglas Langford BELIZE CITY, Mon. May 20,...

UEF commemorates Haitian Flag Day in Belize

Photo: YaYa Marin Coleman educating young Belizean...

Biscayne Gov’t girls and San Narciso RC boys are national primary school softball champions

SportsBiscayne Gov’t girls and San Narciso RC boys are national primary school softball champions

Photo: Biscayne Government School – National Girls Primary School Softball Champions 2024

by Charles Gladden

BELIZE CITY, Wed. May 8, 2024

The Biscayne Government School girls and the San Narciso RC boys won the national primary school softball championships hosted by the National Sports Council at the Marion Jones Stadium in Belize City on Friday, May 3.

Ten schools from different parts of the country participated in the one-day tournament, which was divided into boys’ and girls’ categories.

The teams in each category played a round of games using a double-elimination format.


In the boys category, Garden City and Big Falls were eliminated with 2 losses each, and Silk Grass and Xaibe RC advanced to the semifinals, while undefeated Biscayne awaited the winner for the finals. In the semifinal, Silk Grass defeated Xaibe RC, 12-7; and in the finals, Biscayne Gov’t prevailed, 9-7, over Silk Grass Primary for the girls’ championship.


In the boys category, San Narciso was undefeated in the first round, advancing to the finals, while Garden City and Forest Home were eliminated. In the semifinal, All Saints won, 6-5, over Independence Primary. All Saints then went on to defeat San Narciso in the finals, 7-6; but it being San Narciso’s first loss, they had to square off again, as each team had thus sustained a single loss in the tournament. And in the grand finale, it was San Narciso gaining an 8-7 victory and the championship.

Female: 1st Place – Biscayne Government School (Belize District); 2nd Place – Silk Grass Primary School (Stann Creek District); 3rd Place – Xaibe RC School (Corozal District)

Male: 1st Place – San Narciso RC School (Corozal District); 2nd Place – All Saints Anglican School (Belize District); 3rd Place – Independence Primary School (Stann Creek District)

MVP: Female MVP – Jahmia Rhaburn, pitcher of Biscayne Government School; Male MVP – Eiden Pinelo, pitcher of San Narciso RC.

In awards ceremony after the games, NSC tournament director Kaya Cattouse distributed team trophies and individual medals to members of the top 3 teams as well as the MVP award for females and males.

Check out our other content

Yo geh ketch!

Two missing men

Life sentence for Louis Gillett

Selgado asks for court’s mercy

Check out other tags: