Sports — 31 August 2012
Telemedia repeats as National Softball Champions

BELIZE CITY, Thurs. Aug. 30, 2012

After a compact schedule of games beginning Friday night, August 24, all day Saturday, and climaxing on Sunday night, Telemedia from Belize City was once again crowned National Softball Champions of Belize. The tournament, which followed the double-elimination format, included Telemedia and Mirage Lady Rebels from Belize City, Sandhill Unstoppables and Flowers Bank Easy Does It from Belize Rural, Falcons from the Orange Walk District, and Camalote United and Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy from the Western Region.

In games played on opening night, Friday, Mirage Lady Rebels crushed Camalote United, 8-1; winning pitcher (WP) – Lanisha Jones, and losing pitcher (LP) – Francine Salazar. And Telemedia stopped Sandhill Unstoppables, 10-3; WP – Mary Flowers, LP – Sheraine Westby.

The tournament continued on Saturday with Easy Does It of Flowers Bank demolishing Falcons of Orange Walk, 22-0. Next it was Mirage Lady Rebels over Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy, 7-2; WP – Lanisha Jones, LP – Leandra Guy. Telemedia then made quick work of Flowers Bank, employing the mercy rule in a 7-0 victory; WP – Mary Flowers, LP – Margaret Hendy. The next game saw Sandhill Unstoppables playing from the Loser’s Bracket and eliminating Falcons by a 9-1 score; WP – Sheraine Westby, LP – Marina Gongora. This was followed by Camalote United rallying from an early deficit to eliminate Flowers Bank, 8-5; WP – Francine Salazar, LP – Margaret Hendy.

The first game on Sunday was a treat, as arch-rivals Telemedia and Mirage Lady Rebels went into extra innings all the way to the 10th before Telemedia emerged 5-3 winners; WP – Mary Flowers, LP – Lanisha Jones. Next was Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy eliminating Camalote United, 8-4; WP – Leandra Guy, LP – Francine Salazar.

The following game would decide between third place and a chance to play for the championship, and it was Lady Rebels eliminating Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy in a close one, 5-3, to advance to the championship round against Telemedia; WP – Lanisha Jones, LP – Leandra Guy. Meanwhile, Roaring Creek had to settle for 3rd place and the bronze medals.

The much anticipated rematch of the titans, Mirage Lady Rebels and Telemedia, did not exactly live up to expectations, as the Lady Rebels may have lost their edge after the previous tough battle with Roaring Creek. Telemedia promptly routed the Rebels in 4 innings by a 10-3 score, powered by third baseman Norecia Frazer’s 3-run homer in the bottom of the 1st inning, and run producing triple in the bottom of the 2nd. Telemedia scored their 10 runs on 10 hits, while Mirage Lady Rebels’ 3 runs came off 4 hits. WP – Mary Flowers; LP – Lanisha Jones.

At the end of the tournament, Mr. Joel Wade, 1st Vice Chairman of the National Sports Council, presented the medals, trophies, individual awards and the Lennox Cattouse award to the respective winners of the XXII National Women’s Softball Championship.

The Individual Winners were:

Best Batting Average – Greta Davis (Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy) .556

Most Stolen Bases – Earline Belisle (Telemedia) 2

Most Home Runs – Norecia Frazer (Telemedia) 2

Most Runs Batted In – Norecia Frazer (Telemedia) 6

Most Wins – Mary Flowers (Telemedia) 4-0

Most Strike Outs – Leandra Guy (Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy) 14

Most Valuable Player – Norecia Frazer

The Lennox “Carrots” Cattouse Award, donated by Nelberth Flowers, was presented to head coach Raymond Lashley of national champions Telemedia. The Most Stolen Bases award was donated by Lady Rebels coach Greg Moguel in memory of his departed mother, Ms. Daisy Grant.

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.